Shows

  • Sun Feb 19
    Bloomington, IN
  • Sat Feb 25
    Bloomington Winter Market
    Bloomington, IN
  • Sun Feb 26
    Bloomington, IN
  • Tue Feb 28
    Bears Place
    Bloomington, IN
  • Fri Mar 3
    Bloomington, IN
  • Sun Mar 5
    Bloomington, IN
  • Sat Mar 11
    B-Flat
    Berlin, Germany
  • Sun Mar 12
    Yorkschloesschen
    Berlin, Germany
  • Tue Mar 21
    Bloomington, IN
  • Sun Mar 26
    Bloomington, IN
  • Tue Mar 28
    Bloomington, IN
  • Thu Mar 30
    Bears Place
    Bloomington, IN
  • Fri Mar 31
    Indianapolis, IN
  • Sat Apr 1
    Harlequin Theatre
    Columbus, IN
  • Sun Apr 2
    Indianapolis, IN
  • Sun Apr 2
    Bloomington, IN

Featured Media

   

News

February 15, 2017

With Or Without Words

IMG_1176We have a recent and fun tradition on Sundays. My 15-year old daughter helps me cook up some rice, eggs, and veggies and we stuff Tortillas for lunch. It’s a great opportunity to catch up on the week’s happenings and chat about life. Today she exclaimed, how her best friend had casually mentioned something that she found quite disturbing. (more…)

January 30, 2017

The ABC’s of Jazz

ABC2Can you teach jazz? Jazz and academia were at odds for half a century before a group of musicians and educators from Indiana helped codify the language and share the art form with the rest of the world. Often referred to as the ABC’s of jazz – Jamey Aebersold, David Baker, and Jerry Coker – met at Indiana University as teachers and students in the early 1960’s and collaboratively created a canon of instructional materials, curricula, and workshops that are essential learning tools for students all over the world. (more…)

January 27, 2017

Jam for the Soul

Jam Session 2017Yes, one more time, what is it about jam sessions that’s so good for the soul and everything else. You’ve seen me talk about it, you can find my articles about it, this unique gathering of young and old, students and pros, female and male, black, brown, and beautiful, fosters learning, creativity, networking, friendship, and most of all pure joy. (more…)

January 14, 2017

A glorious weekend in New Orleans – Report from the JEN Conference

New Orleans, the birthplace of jazz, what better place to celebrate 100 years of recorded jazz and the eighth annual gathering of the Jazz Education Network (JEN). Thousands of jazz students, teachers, professionals, supporters, and audiences gathered on Wednesday, January 4 in the Hyatt Regency in New Orleans in anticipation of a glorious weekend of non-stop performances, clinics, research sessions, a large exhibit hall, and of course excursions to the French Quarter and the many entertainment options in the city. (more…)

December 27, 2016

2016 – Only the Good, Not the Ugly

IMG_0269The end of the year is always a time to reflect and set new goals. Usually it is a best of… and worst of… list, but I decided to only go for the good stuff because there is plenty of problems and issues that don’t need to be celebrated. Here is the chronological review¬† – come along for the ride and please share your memories! (more…)